Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Meet the Research Team

Oct 11, 2013 | Uncategorized | 0 comments


6
a:2:{s:16:”NN7sfFTOc9cXTFpR”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:10:”text_field”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:244:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6MTA6InRleHRfZmllbGQiO3M6ODoic2V0dGluZ3MiO2E6NDp7czo1OiJ0aXRsZSI7czoxMzoiQmxvY2sgSGVhZGluZyI7czoxMjoiY29udGVudF90eXBlIjtzOjA6IiI7czoxNDoiY29udGVudF9mb3JtYXQiO3M6NDoibm9uZSI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6IndQYWNCdmFjV1QydFZPRjAiO319″;s:4:”data”;s:15:”Leadership Team”;}s:16:”va5TauIg62keTdzx”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:6:”wygwam”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:204:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6Njoid3lnd2FtIjtzOjg6InNldHRpbmdzIjthOjQ6e3M6NjoiY29uZmlnIjtzOjE6IjYiO3M6NToiZGVmZXIiO3M6MToibiI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6Im1pQTQyRktaNDdHUHVKMWQiO3M6NToidGl0bGUiO3M6NzoiQ29udGVudCI7fX0=”;s:4:”data”;s:630:”

The Gulf of Alaska Board of Investigators (GABI) includes representation from each of the major project components and is responsible for ensuring effective communication between the scientists involved in each of the different aspects of this integrated research project. Current GABI members are Olav Ormseth (middle trophic level), Carol Ladd (modeling), Franz Mueter/Kalei Shotwell (upper trophic level), Russ Hopcroft (lower trophic level), and Molly McCammon (data management).

“;}}
6
a:2:{s:16:”7KBDl7xf19pcxXiI”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:10:”text_field”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:244:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6MTA6InRleHRfZmllbGQiO3M6ODoic2V0dGluZ3MiO2E6NDp7czo1OiJ0aXRsZSI7czoxMzoiQmxvY2sgSGVhZGluZyI7czoxMjoiY29udGVudF90eXBlIjtzOjA6IiI7czoxNDoiY29udGVudF9mb3JtYXQiO3M6NDoibm9uZSI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6IndQYWNCdmFjV1QydFZPRjAiO319″;s:4:”data”;s:18:”Program Management”;}s:16:”ihQawa31PcatvcKt”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:6:”wygwam”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:204:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6Njoid3lnd2FtIjtzOjg6InNldHRpbmdzIjthOjQ6e3M6NjoiY29uZmlnIjtzOjE6IjYiO3M6NToiZGVmZXIiO3M6MToibiI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6Im1pQTQyRktaNDdHUHVKMWQiO3M6NToidGl0bGUiO3M6NzoiQ29udGVudCI7fX0=”;s:4:”data”;s:595:”

Danielle Dickson is the NPRB Program Manager for the Gulf of Alaska Integrated Ecosystem Research Program. She works closely with the Gulf of Alaska Board of Investigators (GABI) to make sure that the scientists from the different components of the project communicate effectively and make progress on meeting the various objectives of the project.  Danielle is also serving as the managing guest editor for the Gulf of Alaska thematic special issues that will be published in Deep Sea Research II. 

“;}}
12
a:3:{s:16:”C3fVRfxvcG98zfTp”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:10:”text_field”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:244:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6MTA6InRleHRfZmllbGQiO3M6ODoic2V0dGluZ3MiO2E6NDp7czo1OiJ0aXRsZSI7czoxMzoiQmxvY2sgSGVhZGluZyI7czoxMjoiY29udGVudF90eXBlIjtzOjA6IiI7czoxNDoiY29udGVudF9mb3JtYXQiO3M6NDoibm9uZSI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6IndQYWNCdmFjV1QydFZPRjAiO319″;s:4:”data”;s:13:”Research Team”;}s:16:”W2B9w718e6Sb6t5J”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:6:”wygwam”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:204:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6Njoid3lnd2FtIjtzOjg6InNldHRpbmdzIjthOjQ6e3M6NjoiY29uZmlnIjtzOjE6IjYiO3M6NToiZGVmZXIiO3M6MToibiI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6Im1pQTQyRktaNDdHUHVKMWQiO3M6NToidGl0bGUiO3M6NzoiQ29udGVudCI7fX0=”;s:4:”data”;s:288:”

Over 45 experts in various fields including physcial, chemical, and biological oceanography, fisheries, seabird and marine mammal science, and ecological modeling all participated in this study. Expand the list below to see the list of scientists and their affiliations. 

“;}s:16:”R56y0h3tsDuTd94P”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:6:”wygwam”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:204:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6Njoid3lnd2FtIjtzOjg6InNldHRpbmdzIjthOjQ6e3M6NjoiY29uZmlnIjtzOjE6IjYiO3M6NToiZGVmZXIiO3M6MToibiI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6Im1pQTQyRktaNDdHUHVKMWQiO3M6NToidGl0bGUiO3M6NzoiQ29udGVudCI7fX0=”;s:4:”data”;s:6944:”

Click to Expand
Name Affiliation Email
Aguilar-Islas, Ana University of Alaska Fairbanks amaguilarislas@alaska.edu
Atkinson, Shannon University of Alaska Fairbanks shannon.atkinson@alaska.edu
Aydin, Kerim NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center kerim.aydin@noaa.gov
Bochenek, Rob Axiom Consulting and Design rob@axiomalaska.com
Budge, Suzanne Dalhousie University suzanne.budge@dal.ca
Busch, Lisa Sitka Sound Science Center lbusch@sitkascience.org
Coffin, Brendan University of Alaska Fairbanks  
Coyle, Ken University of Alaska Fairbanks coyle@ims.uaf.edu
DeRobertis, Alex NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center alex.derobertis@noaa.gov
Doyle, Miriam University of Washington Joint Institute for the Study of Atmosphere & Ocean miriam.doyle@noaa.gov
Fournier, Wyatt NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center wyatt.fournier@noaa.gov
Frederickson, Kerri Western Washington University Kerri.Fredrickson@wwu.edu
Gibson, Georgina University of Alaska Fairbanks gagibson@alaska.edu
Golden, Nadine U.S. Geological Survey ngolden@usgs.gov
Hedstrom, Kate University of Alaska Fairbanks kshedstrom@alaska.edu
Heintz, Ron NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center ron.heintz@noaa.gov
Hermann, Al University of Washington Joint Institute for the Study of Atmosphere & Ocean Albert.J.Hermann@noaa.gov
Hinckley, Sarah NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center sarah.hinckley@noaa.gov
Hopcroft, Russ University of Alaska Fairbanks rrhopcroft@alaska.edu
Horne, John University of Washington jhorne@u.washington.edu
Kachel, Nancy University of Washington Joint Institute for the Study of Atmosphere & Ocean Nancy.Kachel@noaa.gov
Koeppen, Will Axiom Consulting and Design will@axiomalaska.com
Ladd, Carol NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory carol.ladd@noaa.gov
Martin, Ross Axiom Consulting and Design ross@axiomalaska.com
Matarese, Ann NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center Ann.Matarese@noaa.gov
McCammon, Molly Alaska Ocean Observing System mccammon@aoos.org
McGowan, Dave University of Washington mcgowand@uwashington.edu
McKenzie, Liz Sitka Sound Science Center liz.creativeworks@gmail.com
Mordy, Calvin University of Washington Joint Institute for the Study of Atmosphere & Ocean Calvin.W.Mordy@noaa.gov
Moss, Jamal NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center jamal.moss@noaa.gov
Mueter, Franz University of Alaska Fairbanks fmueter@alaska.edu
Napp, Jeff NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center jeff.napp@noaa.gov
Ormseth, Olav NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center olav.ormseth@noaa.gov
Parada, Carolina University of Washington carolina.parada.veliz@gmail.com
Pirtle, Jodi NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center jodi.pirtle@noaa.gov
Rand, Kimberly NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center kimberly.rand@noaa.gov
Reid, Jane U.S. Geological Survey jareid@usgs.gov
Seguret, Marie University of Alaska Fairbanks mseguret@alaska.edu
Shotwell, Kalei NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center kalei.shotwell@noaa.gov
Slater, Leslie U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service leslie_slater@fws.gov
Sreenivasan, Ashwin NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center ashwin.sreenivasan@noaa.gov
Stabeno, Phyllis NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory phyllis.stabeno@noaa.gov
Stockhausen, William NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center william.stockhausen@noaa.gov
Stockwell, Dean University of Alaska Fairbanks dastockwell@alaska.edu
Strom, Suzanne Western Washington University suzanne.strom@wwu.edu
Sullivan, Peggy University of Washington Joint Institute for the Study of Atmosphere & Ocean peggy.sullivan@noaa.gov
Vollenweider, Johanna NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center johanna.vollenweider@noaa.gov
Waite, Jason University of Alaska Fairbanks jason.waite@alaska.edu
Wang, Shiway Sedna Ecological sedna.ecological@gmail.com
Zaleski, Molly NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center marilyn.zaleski@noaa.gov
Zimmermann, Mark NOAA Alaska Fisheries Science Center mark.zimmermann@noaa.gov

“;}}
12
a:2:{s:16:”gC42OTUaTbPX29TS”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:10:”text_field”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:244:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6MTA6InRleHRfZmllbGQiO3M6ODoic2V0dGluZ3MiO2E6NDp7czo1OiJ0aXRsZSI7czoxMzoiQmxvY2sgSGVhZGluZyI7czoxMjoiY29udGVudF90eXBlIjtzOjA6IiI7czoxNDoiY29udGVudF9mb3JtYXQiO3M6NDoibm9uZSI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6IndQYWNCdmFjV1QydFZPRjAiO319″;s:4:”data”;s:20:”Data Management Team”;}s:16:”DRdeO5HGm0AqLkpK”;a:3:{s:12:”element_type”;s:6:”wygwam”;s:16:”element_settings”;s:204:”YToyOntzOjQ6InR5cGUiO3M6Njoid3lnd2FtIjtzOjg6InNldHRpbmdzIjthOjQ6e3M6NjoiY29uZmlnIjtzOjE6IjYiO3M6NToiZGVmZXIiO3M6MToibiI7czozOiJlaWQiO3M6MTY6Im1pQTQyRktaNDdHUHVKMWQiO3M6NToidGl0bGUiO3M6NzoiQ29udGVudCI7fX0=”;s:4:”data”;s:1094:”

Alaska Ocean Observing System and Axiom Consulting and Design have teamed up to provide data management services for the Gulf of Alaska Project. They have established a private electronic workspace to facilitate data sharing among the scientists working on the project. They also plan to launch a public website where metadata will be shared in order to facilitate collaboration with others working in the Gulf of Alaska.  The team is helping the scientists to organize their data, author metadata, and create a permanent data archive.  To read the full statement of work for this project, click here.

Scope of Work

“;}}

2

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

WHo we are
GENERAL INFO

Established in 2001, NPRB is a marine research organization that supports pressing fishery management issues or marine ecosystem needs.

REPORTS & PUBLICATIONS

More than 600 peer-reviewed publications have been produced through NPRB-funded research. Browse our library and our reports here.

LEADERSHIP

NPRB comprises a 20 member Board, representing Federal, State, and other entitites while receiving advice from Science and Advisory Panels.

PARTNERSHIPS

Looking to partner with NPRB? NPRB welcomes partnerships to co-fund research in areas of common interest and across its programs.

OUTREACH & ENGAGEMENT

NPRB communicates and engages with a broad and diverse set of Alaskan stakeholders and audiences, from coastal communities to academia.

STAFF

NPRB staff support the Board, Science, and Advisory Panels for funding decisions, science priorities, recommendations, and program management.

Funding Available

The Core Program offers year-round funding with flexible rolling submission options.

SUBMIT YOUR RESEARCH PRIORITIES

NPRB staff begins developing draft research priorities for the Core Program in late July and August. Submit before July 2nd to be considered for the current year’s RFP development. 

Our Programs
INTEGRATED ECOSYSTEM PROGRAMS
SCIENCE FOUNDATION

NPRB maintains scientific programs designed to address pressing fishery management issues and Alaska marine ecosystem information needs.

CORE PROGRAM

NPRB supports a competitive, peer-reviewed annual request for proposal (RFP) process dedicated to marine research in Alaskan waters.

The Arctic Integrated Ecosystem Reserach Program looked at how physical changes in the ocean influence the flow of energy through the marine food web in the Bering Strait, Chukchi Sea, and western Beaufort Sea from 2017-2021.

OUTREACH PROGRAM

Supporting science communication, engagement, outreach, and education initiatives for all our research programs.

LONG-TERM MONITORING

This program supports new or existing time-series research that enhance the ability to understand the current state of marine ecosystems.

The Bering Sea Project, a partnership between the North Pacific Research Board and the National Science Foundation, sought to understand the impacts of climate change and dynamic sea ice cover on the eastern Bering Sea ecosystem.

INTEGRATED ECOSYSTEM RESEARCH

These are large-scale interdisciplinary ecosystem-based programs, requiring multiple agency coordination, collaboration, and investigation.

GRADUATE STUDENT RESEARCH AWARDS

NPRB supports next generation scientists, researchers, and resource managers to further their studies in relevant fields of marine science and to our mission.

The Gulf of Alaska Project tested three main hypotheses about the survival and recruitment of five focal groundfish species (Pacific cod, Pacific ocean perch, walleye pollock, arrowtooth flounder, sablefish) during their first year of life.

About NPRB
  • Menu Item 1
  • Menu Item 2
  • Menu Item 3
  • Menu Item 4
  • Menu Item 5
  • Menu Item 6
  • Menu Item 7

Title Goes Here

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the

Title Goes Here

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the